The Moat of Odawara Castle

I had once wanted to work in Japan, until I visited Japan the day after my college graduation.

I did not enjoy my stay there. Nothing was spectacular, and Tokyo was too over-crowded for my taste. It was a lot more stressful to be in a Tokyo subway station than taking 4 science exams on the same day and I had better Japanese food in San Francisco. To top it off, I was supposed to be in Europe, with my friends. Apparently, there were a lot to dislike about Japan.

However, I enjoyed some parts of Japan. Case in point–the moat surrounding the Odawara Castle. Yes, a moat. No, I didn’t wade my way through the water to take this shot. The castle itself wasn’t that interesting but the moat was. There was a paved pathway through it where people can stroll through and it was quite serene to be standing on it. Hopefully the moat isn’t dried up by now.

Location:
Odawara Castle
Odawara, Japan

Leave a Reply

