30 things to do before turning 30

As the WordPress homepage uploaded, my eyes caught a blog post titled “That Special Book in My Life.” I immediately thought about The Spanish Apartment, a French movie I watched soon after my college graduation. Being 22 at the time, that movie made me decide to forego lucrative corporate jobs in order to pursue my passions.

That movie is very relevant for people in their twenties. And it’s sequel about the main character’s life as he enters his 30’s is even more relevant to those who’s been out of college for several years. As I watched the sequel, The Russian Dolls, I can’t help but think about what I have accomplished in my 20’s. That movie, coupled with an article about a Harvard alum, prompted me to make a list of 30 things I want to do before I’m 30. I was 25.

Now 3 years later, as I’m nearing 30’s and showing signs of gray hair (let’s just blame it on medical school stuff and lack of sleep), I have completed almost everything on the list. I found myself rushing through them all, even more so after a near-death accident and I was not able to enjoy them as much. In the midst of crossing things off on my list, I have forgotten to stop and smell the roses. It’s the journey that matters, not the destination.

Leave a Reply

